The Unforgiving Minute: A Soldier’s Education (Recommend)

Image

I am happy to report that I finished my book this week. I am happy because I told myself that after I finished Clash of Kings (reviewed two weeks ago) I have to read a non-fiction book before I went on to the next book in the fantasy series “Song of Ice and Fire.” Needless to say I started my non-fiction book instantly and read it at every available moment. This book was called “The Unforgiving Minute: A Soldier’s Education” written by Craig Mullaney. I started reading the book knowing that it was only about the author’s experience in Afghanistan, but within the first few pages I find out that the author is native of Rhode Island (same state where I am from) and grew up about twenty minutes from my house. Immediately I was more invested and I texted all my friends from this town and asked them if they knew him. Unfortunately, they did not since he is a bit older, however they had all heard of him. I was now reading this book not to get through it, but to connect with a fellow proud Rhode Islander.

This is an autobiography of Craig Mullaney. Starting with his learning experiences of his high school wrestling team at Bishop Hendricken, continuing all the way up to his return from his tour in Afghanistan. Mullany went to west point, ranger school and oxford all before being deployed to Afghanistan. His story is pretty amazing and the book is very well written. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a story of a hard working American soldier. Personally, I have read more compelling books written by soldiers both of Afghanistan, Iraq and WWII, but although I intended to rush through this book, I found myself invested and caring for Craig.

http://craigmmullaney.com/content/index.asp  – a trailer for the book

I already stared “A Storm of Swords,” the next book in the series, and I am very excited about it. Its pretty long so you will have to wait in “suspense” as I read it over the next few weeks. Also, next week I am very, very, very excited to report that I will be reviewing The Hunger Games, the motion picture. If you have not read this series yet, read the first one before you see the movie, you can and will finish the book in 2 days.

-Steve Conroy

4 thoughts on “The Unforgiving Minute: A Soldier’s Education (Recommend)

  1. Ill give you a preview of next weeks.

    “The Way” with Charlie Sheen, an excellent movie with lots of emotion. Highly Recommend.

  2. When he is not holding Charlie’s hair back. He is really good is this one though, and this was written and directed by Emilio Estevez (his other son).

Comments are closed.