Day 2/3

Day 2

The second day was much different from the first. Pasta, pasta, pasta. I ate a steady diet of pasta with pesto all day. I was definitely hungry especially at night and grew increasingly frustrated with my lack of choice in food.

I have noticed something interesting however. My living situation is not stable at the moment and this has made it significantly difficult to shop prepare food, and live a frugal food ingesting lifestyle. Don’t worry I sleep in beds most nights (and on a good amount of couches). The apartment in Cambridge where I have been “living” is owned by my parents and is rented four nights a week to international travelers. This has me moving from place to place by the night. Sometimes I’m in Davis Square with my bandmates, other nights I’m in Kendal Square with a college friends, Allston, Medford, and Washington DC whenever I can manage. Needless to say it has been hard for me to shop, prepare food ahead of time, and keep is sanitary throughout the week.

I have 10 dollars left.

Day 3

Well, I’m over budget. I didn’t eat my first meal until 12pm and being that I had no prepared food had to purchase a sandwich and cliff bar. These lasted me all the way till 8pm when I bought a hamburger. This is really hard. Without the ability to store food I can’t cook large cheap meals ahead of time to sustain me for a week. I have only been eating two meals a day and feel hungry all the time but without a stable kitchen I don’t have a better option.

I feel guilty because I know that I’m not supposed to have the option of paying beyond my means, but hunger is a powerful thing. I am going to attempt to only spend 20 dollars on the next four days. I think this is possible if I eat only pasta, cliff bars, and water. We’ll see. 

This is much more difficult than I imagined.

One thought on “Day 2/3

  1. I think you should consider going to Whole Foods tomorrow because they give away free food between 4pm and 7pm I think. And I feel guilty because you are semi-homeless but this is a very interesting challenge which will give you enormous insight into how people (not like us) have to live because their worlds are so profoundly unstable physically but also emotionally. My question is – how much of mental illness is caused by this kind of chronic instability.

Comments are closed.